Press Enter to begin your search


The Royal Standard is an artist-led gallery,
studios and social workspace in Liverpool

The Royal Standard (TRS) is an artist-led gallery, studio complex and registered charity based in Liverpool. We are dedicated to fostering opportunities for the most outstanding recent graduates and emerging artists through providing affordable studio space, free public exhibitions, events and training. We support 45 artists as well as having a dedicated gallery based in Northern Lights, Cains Brewery Village L8.

We have worked with over 350 artists and delivered over 80 unique exhibitions and events. We deliver a public programme and monthly workshop programme for our membership simultaneously. We work with cross sector partners across the North West with long standing relationships with Bluecoat,Liverpool Biennial, FACT, New Contemporaries, Newbridge Projects, Liverpool John Moores University, and critical writing journal, The Double Negative. All of this has established TRS as a dynamic hub for contemporary artistic practice in the North West providing an important ‘middle ground’ for the artist community ecology.

Our History

The Royal Standard was established in 2006 by four Liverpool-based artists in response to the need for a new artist-led organisation that would operate somewhere in between the city’s grassroots DIY initiatives and the more established arts institutions. Originally housed in a former pub in Toxteth, in 2008 The Royal Standard undertook an ambitious relocation and expansion into a larger industrial space on the Northern periphery of the city centre to the Vauxhall Road site, relaunching to acclaim for the Liverpool Biennial 2008, which coincided with the city’s year as European Capital of Culture. After 8 years at the Vauxhall road site, in October 2016 we relocated to our current location in L8, within the Northern Lights complex run by Baltic Creative.


Northern Lights
Cains Brewery Village
5 Mann Street
L8 5AF


There are two entrances into the building. The first entrance is our studio members 24-hour access. The second entrance is the main entrance into the building for the public. This entrance has large double doors (measuring 180cm) and can easily accommodate wheelchair users and strollers. There is a curb upon entering the building, but we have a ramp readily available.

Artist Leads:

Faye Hamblett-Jones, Max Mallender,

Kezia Davies, Dan O’Dempsey, Amy Cadwallader


Jim Buso, Maria Brewster, Michael Ball,

 Joanne Karcheva, Mark Hooper, Rosalind Stockill,

Laurence Payot, Dave Evans

Former Artist Leads:

Benjamin Lunt, Benjamin Nuttall,

Sally Slingsby, Sufea Mohamad Noor,

Becky Peach, Kate Hodgson,

Lucy Bretherton, Lucy Moxon, Emma Curd,

Jade French, Joe Cotgrave, Kyle Percy,

Maggie Matic, Ashleigh Owen, Greg Herbert,

Charlotte Horn, Ellie Barrett, Rachael White,

Louis Palliser-Ames, Rachel Marcroft, James Harper,

Mike Aitken, Amy Jones, Peter Martin,

Elizabeth Murphy, Dave Evans, Fran Disley,

Madeline Hall, Andy Foulds, Natalie Hughes,

Sam Venables, Laura Robertson, Lucy McDonald,

Hamish McLain, Jemma Egan, Laurence Payot,

Gabriel Stones, Penny Whitehead, Jim Buso,

Kevin Hunt, Eleanor Hawkridge, Sean Hawkridge,

Paul Luckraft